Beginner here - I must be dumb

spaycee

Question

ok, maybe that is extreme. But I am reading thru the crochet book I bought AND the Stitch by Stitch magazines my mom had from the 80s and I don't care - I have been at this for about 2 hours and I can't make a slip knot to get started. I am not getting completely impatient - YET. I even found some videos online and I am confused. Maybe I don't understand the process? Any suggestions to get my started?

11 answers to this question

Are you having trouble getting the knot on the hook to get you started? I actually had trouble with that too. When I first started I used to make the slip knot, then put that on the hook. I also kept trying to keep the loops on the hook as for knitting.

Just keep trying and try to keep everything loose. I remember crying when I first started, but then it all just clicked.

ok this is hard to describe, but here's how my friend taught me to do it (making the knot on the hook)

wrap the yarn around the hook (about 1/4 an inch from the actual hook part) twist it around once (just take the hook and turn it in a full circle) then pull your first chain through the loop that made, and pull tight on the tail. That makes the slip knot on the hook, and leaves you ready to start your chain (the first pull through does not count as a chain, its part of making the knot)

hope that helps!!

Sherry

That is how I begin also. I have never made an actual sl knot to start a chain. A chain is just simply grabbing the thread and pulling the loop through. The begining stitch isn't really any different, just you have to put a loop on the hook to pull through first. Wrap the yarn/thread around your hook holding your loop onto the hook with one hand, , grab the yarn/thread with the hook, pull through. Do that twice and you are good to go. Hope that makes sense.