New to thread crochet HELP!!'

Roxiegirl

Hey y'all! I'm new here but am thrilled to have found this forum. I have been crocheting for almost five years now and think I'm pretty good at it. Recently I saw a picture of these adorable crochet panel hoop earrings I knew I had to make!!! There's no pattern only a picture and materials used- a silver hoop &silk thread.

I got some hoops and thread, pulled out my smallest hook & went for it. IT'S HORRIBLE and driving me batty! The stitches are uneven and I have a hard time getting the hook in the right loop.

Is thread crochet a learned and acquired talent? Does it have a different technique?

I've did find a website about making thread crochet snowflakes that had some advice on learning so now I'm thinking not alone thread is different than yarn.

Is it possible I have the wrong materials? My hook is a clover soft touch d/3.25 mm... Do I need something smaller?

My thread is gutermann 100% silk. I think the website said it's a size 30?

I don't mind fingering weight yarn but I didn't like crochet cotten or making doilies? Does that have any bearing in using thread for earrings or is hope lost or these cute earrings?

Any advice welcome

Roxie:(

Thread is different. The stitches are the same but you'll have to find a new tension. Once you get your tension set the stitches will come out better.

Your hook is WAY to big. I would start with #10 thread. Royal is a decent brand and has a bunch of colors. You need either a Bates Brand steel hook in size 5 or Boye Brand hook in steel hook size 7.

One of the reasons that your stitches are so 'awful' and that you can't see where to put the hook is because your hook is way too big.

for sure that is much too large a hook. for size 30 thread you will need about a 1 mm hook. the mm size for size 10 thread is 1.5-1.75. http://www.heirloomcrochet.com/hccrochethooks.html