Etsy or Ravelry?

Hi all,

I am curious about the general opinions on sale of patterns on either of these sites. I currently have a store on Etsy where I put up a few items for sale, mostly patterns some paper crafts of mine. I came across the Ravelry site and found that there are both free patterns as well as those that are for sale up there.

As a crafter, which site do you prefer? Do you prefer it because of the variety of items available? or does it generate more sales?

Do both. Different people are on different sites and it widens your market.

The benefits of ravelry:

1. you don't have to e-mail the pattern. They do that for you.

2. no listing fee. you don't pay anything unless you make over $20 (or is it $25) in a month.

I am NOT a designer, so this is MHO. I prefer Ravelry, cause I always check what is new, for free there. While I am checking, I will look at the for purchase items too, & occasionally get 1 of those too. After purchase, it is automatically stored in "my library" - one less I have to download.

ETSY is almost 100% for purchase items. I don't look at it on a regular basis.

I have a question. Some of my acquaintances at Ravelry have asked me if I would post this or that pattern over there. . . I have never had the time to find out how to do that because I am always zipping in and out of Ravelry. Would any of you kind crocheters point me to the page where one can find out how to upload a pattern to Ravelry? I have something in the works, if it's not too time consuming to post it over there, I would give it a try.

Thank you so much!

Clotilde

hi there,

I have just posted my designs on Ravelry. If you would like to add a pattern on Ravelry, you need to log in and go to 'Contributions' to add a pattern. There will be a form to fill and link to your file.