Help please with cotton dish cloths

rhonda2245

Question

I have never worked with cotton thread before but purchased some to make some dish cloths. They will be washed in warm or hot water and dried in the dryer. How much will the cotton thread shrink? Do I need to make the dish cloths larger and if so, how much? Or do I need to wash the thread first and if so, how do I do that? Won't it ravel out? Thanks in advance.

10 answers to this question

I crochet pretty loosely so when mine shrink it really does not affect the dishcloth. A friend of mine made me one in Single Crochet and she crocheted pretty tightly. I have washed it a couple of time and it is getting all wonky. Luckily it is JUST a dishcloth. I still LOVE it because she made it for ME.

Hi Rhonda;

I do a lot of crocheting with cotton thread all weights and have not noticed much shrinking. It does seem to get a little thicker and more absorbent but I think you will be very happy with the results. I tend to crochet rather tightly so I always use a hook one or two sizes bigger than the recommended hook size.

I love crocheting with cotton because it feels so good in my hands. Many acrylics have a scratchy feel to them - but I really just love natural fibers because they are pure and well....just natural I guess.

J ;)

I crochet many dishcloths, and I use cotton thread. I haven't noticed any shrinkage after putting them through the laundry. I have noted that the ones in which I have used double crochets are thicker and feel nice to the touch. I don't think that you have anything to worry about. Just crochet away and launder later.

Doesn't matter if they shrink a little - when wet they stretch back out again. In fact, I don't like to make mine too big because of the stretching when using.

I agree - crochet away and launder later; no need to wash the yarn first!