question regarding circular crochet

oreo

Question

I have been crocheting for 10+ yrs. and have never done any projects using a circular hook. Can anyone briefly explain the uses of such a hook, and whether you could use a "regular" hook in a pattern that calls for a circular one? I want to make a child's hat that has a flower covering the top - trendy item seen in a boutique. Thank you in advance!

15 answers to this question

Yep, it does exist...though I have no idea what to do with it! :think Oneday while I was at Walmart I came across one and bought it thinking it was interesting, but haven't been able to find any patterns for it, or any mention about it anywhere else. If anyone knows where to get patterns to use with it, or more info on its purpose, please let me know. Here is a picture of mine. It's metal, size 5.5mm made by Boye.

doubleendedcrochethooksz5.jpg

Ah, that makes sense...thanks Crochet Smartcat! You posted while I was writting my post. :lol I have a book for crochet on the double and totally forgot about it...never actually tried it, guess I will have to dig it out sometime. :hook

:think :think :think I think you will find it is for Tunisian Crochet, also called Tricot.

I have never seen them but have read about them either on a link via HGTV or DIY.:hook :hook :hook

If I find the info, I will let you know.

I think they would be a bit of a pain to use for normal crochet, having the end dangling.

Have fun,

Colleen

I haven't used mine yet, but I was thrilled to f ind one. When you're doing a large piece using the afghan stitch, the hook gets awfully full keeping all those stitches on there. The circular hook gives you a lot more room for more stitches, therefore a bigger project. That's my understanding anyway. I'm anxious to try it.

Susan Rae

They're like the Crochenit cable hook that Annie's Attic sells. I love making lapghans with them because there's no joining, and the patterns are so cool!