Hi Everyone

sarah_ea

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Crochetville and decided to post my introduction. I came accross this site while searching for patterns and saw the crochet games of ancient greece. I decided this might be something fun to do, so I joined the site to participate in the games. So far my project is coming along nicely and I think I may have underestimated the challenge, as I will probably get done this week. However, I didn't realize with this pattern that a lot of weaving in ends is required, so this is a challenge for me since I don't like to do this!

Okay now for the about me part. I live in Kentucky and I just turned 30 about a month ago. I'm not married and I don't have any children, although I hope to someday. I just haven't found the right guy yet but I hope to find him soon because now that I am 30 I don't know how much longer I can wait to have children.

I started crocheting again about 3 months ago. My mom taught me the granny stitch when I was around 11 but that was all I knew. I hadn't crocheted for many years mainly because I didn't have the time. In December my mom passed away and in Febraury my job was eliminated, so I was faced with two major life changes and a lot of time on my hands. Finding a new job has proven more difficult than I anticipated and I needed something to do to keep myself from going crazy. That's when I began to crochet again.

In the 3 months since I have started to crochet again, I have taught myself a lot about crocheting. I learned the actual name of the stitches I was doing and how to do even more stitches. I'm still a novice but with the help of instruction manuals and youtube I am getting there. I know two expectant mothers and I have made each of them a baby afghan, booties, cap and mittens. It took me awhile but I finally found a pattern for each of these that I could work. I am now working on blankets for my niece and nephews. I have one completed and the other two started.