Help with Bernat's Martha like poncho?

angieo

Question

:D Hi ladies! I've been lurking for a few weeks and wanted to ask for some help. I'm making the Martha like ponch from www.bernat.com. My question is it looks too small. This is my first attempt at ponchos - I've always done afghans. I normally wear Women's small but it doesn't look like it will cover my shoulders . I still have about 12 more rows to do but where the small top v where you start looks awfully small. Is this the actual whole for the head? If it is too small could I add stitches to the side before I sew them together? Any suggestions? Maybe I'm just scared since it's my first attempt!

14 answers to this question

Sorry I'm not going to be much help besides the obvious. I'm not familiar with the bernat pattern, though I have helped many people to understand the lion brand one. After reading the pattern, the top is where your head would go and if it is too small than maybe your stitch count is off. Other things to check is if you changed the type of yarn called for or the hook size, or if you crochet tightly, it may be too small. You can try adding stitches along the edges, but the pattern would be difficult to match, it would increase the head opening. Personally, I would rather frog it ang start again, also the lion brand pattern works in rounds and so you would know immediately if the size isn't going to work.

Sorry I wasn't much help. Hope it all works out.