Ideas and suggestions please

Hello,

This may seem an odd request but why not since this is such a wonderful bunch. I am a professor of economics and part of my job requires that I do research and write papers that will be published in scholarly journals. I am always looking for new ideas and novel topics that others have not yet done. So I would love to do some research and write a paper on "The Economics of Crocheting". But what exactly to write and what research question to pose is my dilema :think . I am wondering if people in this great group have suggestions or ideas for me to think over. The key thing is always "Who cares?" Well we all know and understand the importance of our craft but what about it might be compelling to others (particularily the editor and reviewers at any journal I may consider)?

Thanks in advance :hug

One topic that I have seen come up is the difference in value that crocheters/crafters assign a handmade object compared to those who don't crochet/craft. Example: I'm sorking on a stole and figured out that I have put 22 hours into it (and it's not even half done). Multiply that by minimum wage and it's worth over $100. I don't know many people that would spend that much on an item like that. With WalMart to compete with, actual marketable value and percieved value of home made items will always be quite different. Others may not be as interested in this, but I find it interesting.

Since "Economics is the social science that studies the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services" (wikipedia), how about the topic of crafters who selflessly donate their time and resources to produce things for the less fortunate, for Project Linus, retirement homes, hospitals and such. Perhaps more social than science, but it might be interesting.