newbie who just wants to make sure

starywary

Question

Hello, newbie here. I just wanted to make sure I was crocheting correctly - when I insert hook into next stitch, do I put the hook under the two loops, or just one? When I first started, I was doing it under just one loop, and there was this line going across my work. This woman who worked in the laundromat showed me that I should be inserting it under two loops, and voila no more line. That is how I have been crocheting since, but now I am making my son a doll ( Amigurumi pattern from Lion Brand website ) and was getting confused about hdc, especially when the pattern said to work in back loops only. SO after finally starting to get a little confidence in myself, now I am all confused and stuck! Can someone please help with this very basic question? :think

Oh, also, (sorry I'm taking so long to explain some very simple things, lol) when I look up how to do a hdc, it says to chain 1 extra then the pattern calls for, and then tells how to do the stitch. SO do I ch 1 extra for every hdc when I am crocheting in the round, or do I just ignore that part and go right into inserting the hook into next stitch? Hope this is making sense.

Thank you!!

7 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!

For the basic crochet stitches you go under both loops.

For back loop only you will just use that back loop.

For the front loop only you will just use the front loop.

For post stitches you will go around the post and the direction in which you will do this depends on the pattern and if it is a front or back post stitch.

Hope this helps. Good luck!

Yep - you do go under both loops unless instructed otherwise - like it might say to go into the Back Loop only - which is what you were probably doing when you got that line across your work. Or a pattern might tell you to go into Front Loop Only.