Newbie question

NickyR

Question

Hi everyone!

This is my first post on this forum so I thought I'd start with a quick hello!

I'm just learning to crochet as a fun project while I'm studying in Beijing. However, I am teaching myself from a book and have a little question. I'm really sorry if this has been dealt with somewhere else on the forum... I did do a little search but I wasn't quite sure what to search under...

Anyway, my question is this: I am a knitter in a previous life. I seem to be progressing faster than I thought with my crochet - my first project is a cafetiere cover and I've just finished the first side, only 2 stitches short - yeah! :clap

However, I have just noticed that I am holding my wool like a knitter. I knit European style and so I am holding the yarn in my right hand (the same hand as my crochet hook) then I am looping it around the hook almost exactly like I would loop it round the needle when I knit.

I just re-read the first section of my book and it suggests that I should hold my hook in my right hand and my yarn in my left hand. It then says I should pull it back through the loop by taking advantage of the tension in the yarn as a result of the hand position.

I have tried this a few times and I found it quite clumsy. However, I am wondering whether this is just because I am a newbie (I found knitting clumsy to start with too!). I am now wondering whether, if I don't push myself through a pain barrier with the left hand yarn thing, I will always be slow at crochet - or my technique will be bad - or something like that.

So, after this really long explanation (!) I want to ask: is it very odd that I hold wool and hook in my right hand and/or do you think I should try to change the way I hold my yarn?? :think