Graphing an afghan question

My son wants me to make a graphed afghan with the New Orleans Saints symbol on it. I have never done a graphed afghan before. We found the image he wants and we put it into that knitpro program. My question is: Do you use a graph that gives you like 105 x 120 squares or one that is approx. 42 x 49 squares?

for an afghan I do the largest one they have there and usually have to add on some. for something like a tote size I do the middle one.

I would definitely use the largest one for an afghan.

When I started one of these, the largest size (160 by something) was just going to work ... if I put a nice border on it.

My son wants me to make a graphed afghan with the New Orleans Saints symbol on it. I have never done a graphed afghan before. We found the image he wants and we put it into that knitpro program. My question is: Do you use a graph that gives you like 105 x 120 squares or one that is approx. 42 x 49 squares?

There is a crochet along starting July 15 for graphed afghans. Lillibet (Moomoo) is hosting and teaching those of us who don't know what we are doing! Why don't you join in I am sure all your questions will be answered!

Here is the link to the crochetalong thread:

http://www.crochetville.org/forum/showthread.php?t=53040

Definately go with the XL. Not only is it closer to afghan size (you'll probably still have to put a border around it, but there will be more detail incorporated into the graph.

When I made this one...I used the "XL" and ADDED 20 stitches to each side AND 20 rows to the top and 20 rows to the bottom...

SteelerAfghan001.jpg

When I did this...I used the "BIG" and made a border of rows of various stitches and colors...

SamsSteelerafghan001.jpg

And I did this one using "BIG" and added the border of rows of various stitches and colors...

PGTAfghan001.jpg

Oh now I'm jealous and I'm scared. I'm not sure I can do it. I know that you have to have all these spools of yarn hanging from the back of your work.