Crochet Garden Sandman Afghan

I just purchased the CG Sandman afghan pattern. It says it is intermediate...I'm a beginner...but I just had to get it! The afghan is so gorgeous and I'm thinking that this would be great gifts for my mom and sister. I've been looking for afghans for them and think this might be the one. For those of you who have made this afghan, how do you think a beginning crocheter will do with it? I'm not too worried, because I know if I take the pattern step by step I sould be fine but I'm just curious what your experiences have been.

Also, I love those sets of winter scarves...I'm thinking those will make awesome gifts this xmas too!!

Thanks!

To be honest, I don't really follow the Beginner-Advanced labels on the patterns. I've started too many beginner patterns that were confusing and advanced patterns that were too easy to do. My suggestion is to read through the pattern to make sure you understand it and do a practice swatch. If you have no troubles with the practice swatch, then you're good to go. If you run into trouble... Well, I'm sure the Villagers wouldn't mind lending a helping hand.

Hugs and Cookies

Auntie K

I don't pay any attention to the beginner-advanced labeling either. I do what ever I want. I'll read through the pattern first and if I have spent sometime trying the pattern and don't get it, I'll just put down for a while and come back to it.

I also ought that pattern but haven't tried it yet. The scarves and hats and mittens patterns I bought and loved making all of them for christmas gifts last year.

Good luck.

Val

:) I think you will do just great.. and Lisa has a support forum if you run into any problems...Lots of help to get ya through it.

Also, don't forget that the designer of that afghan is a member here, and I'm SURE she'd be willing to help you out if you end up having problems. :hook