More questions

Jens

Is filet crochet (following a chart/graph) different from following a pattern and making a dolly? Is this considered 2 different types of crocheting? I just finished a small fleur de lis from a graph. I enjoyed doing it but I would like to do a pineapple dolly from the book Leisure Arts (little books). The dolly says 'quick and easy'. It's a square dolly but starts in a circle. Are pineapple dollies hard? Another question how do I convert yards into grams? I bought some DMC thread that was 50 grams no idea how to convert this into the yards that the pattern calls for. I bought 2???

This would be my third thread project the first 2 I followed charts. I can read a crochet pattern (sometimes I have trouble but I've made a couple of easier afgans and baby blackets out of yarn) I'm still a beginner is this going to be to hard for me?

Thanks in advance.

Jen

I don't think the two are "different" but most doilies are done in the round where as fillet crochet is done back and forth. I guess that depends on what "you" mean by different.

I don't think pineapple doilies are particularly hard. If you have problems with a pattern you can always come here for some help if you don't understand the pattern. DMC Cebelia #10 has aprrox. 280 yards in a 50 g ball, not sure why the balls don't tell you that. I don't know how to calculate it. If for some reason a ball doesn't tell me yardage, I google for the thread and the store will usually tell me the yardage.

Hello Jen,

Many of crochet pieces are done by using basic stiches, some of them are more advanced than the others. Filet crochet usually goes line by line. Sometimes you can find circular filets too. Pineapple doilies are not more complicated than any other crochets, if you happen to have good instruction, it works just fine.

What size of threads you are writing about. size has different yardage. ( I use 20 gr size 30 threads and it holds 276 yards, some size 10 threads are 280 yards in 50 gr.