has anyone had this happen?

I have been crocheting for 35+ years and using coats & clark thread forever. I started a crocheted top last week and when I was finished with the first ball of Dark Royal, I attached another ball--guess what? The colors are sooooooooooo off. The label is exactly the same--all the same info on it. I am so upset--looks like I wasted a whole weeks' worth of work. I think the other 3 that I bought are the same, I just can't figure out what the deal is. Of course, Joann's, where I bought the thread, won't take the balls back since the labels are off. And what would they do with the one that has already been crocheted!!! It's not a lot of $$, but it's the principal--and the work. I'm so disappointed. I think I'm going to call Coats & Clark on Monday just to get it off my chest!!!!:P

Thanks for letting me vent!!! :)

I am sorry that happened. Yes I have had that to happen .

It is so furstrating

You could call the company and tell them what happened.

Maybe , they could do something about it?:(

and the companys where the yarn has no dye lots. I have run into problems with those too.:yes

:hug to you.

I just love when they say no dye and you buy them all together and it happens. last year I made matching shrug for my daughter and I and from the elbow down on one "sleeve" the shade is slightly off. I love the thing but cant stand to wear it because of it.

all skeins were purchased together too so I made sure I checked the label close

:cheer The shop which sold you the thread need to put it right for you, then they need to take it up with the manufacturer.

In NZ, we have what is called "Consumers Guarantee Act" which means anything that you buy must be of a usable quality and fit for the job, which your thread is obviously not.

Do you have something similar where you live?