Wanted to post in chartity thread but haven't been here long enough...

How do you get spouses to understand that we're not just sitting on our rears crocheting to avoid housework?

I have been donating hats to a local hospital for 2 years now. My mother was diagnosed with brain cancer in December 2004. She started chemo on New Year's Eve that year.

Obviously I needed something to do while we were at the hospital so I crocheted. After a while I figured I could make hats and leave them there every time we were there. She went in every 2 weeks.

Mom finished her treatments in June of 2005 and has been cancer free for a year and a half. We go back every 3 months for her checkups and I try to drop off another stash of hats.

When I was pregnant last year and since the baby has been born, I haven't been able to do as many. Now the baby is older so I have been crocheting like crazy to get a stash to drop off. I have 9 but really want 20. I'm delivering this Friday though so I don't think I'll get there.

Either way, sometimes I feel like my dh thinks I'm screwing around to avoid housework. He gets irritated even though he knows I'm not doing it for me. I just don't get it sometimes. :no

I'd tell him straight up! Guys have a hard time understanding such things. Just make it as clear as possible that this is a matter close to your heart. For your sanity and sense of worth, you crochet. Does he help with housework? ARRGGHH! I can't put into words what I'm thinking, so I'll just leave you with....:hug:D

This is your way of giving back to others. You're mom survived a fight with cancer and you want to give to others who are fighting. That's a beautiful thing that you're doing.

Now if ya'll can't walk across the living room without falling over because things are such a mess, then maybe you need some balance, but you just keep doing what you're doing. My husband is so supportive of my charity work. I hope that soon yours will be as well. :hug