Working into a decrease....

NeedSleep

Question

I'm fairly new to crochet and am curious what the correct thing to do is when working into a decrease.

What I mean is, when working in single crochet the stitch that you decreased ends up with 3 loops, instead of the usual 2 front and back loops.

So, when you work into that stitch (assuming the directions don't say in back loops or front loops only), do you put your hook through all 3 loops or skip one of them? If so, which one?

Thanks!!!

13 answers to this question

Hi there.

Yes, you are right. You insert the hook and draw up a loop in the next two stitches. You yarn over and pull the yarn through all three loops. Good luck to you.:)

Maybe, I'm not getting your question, or maybe you are doing it wrong...but if you have a decrease in the previous row and are working the next row into it, there should only be two loops, the same as the rest of the stitches. It will look overlapped if you look at the front of the stitch but from above it should look the same.

Anyone else?

Maybe, I'm not getting your question, or maybe you are doing it wrong...but if you have a decrease in the previous row and are working the next row into it, there should only be two loops, the same as the rest of the stitches. It will look overlapped if you look at the front of the stitch but from above it should look the same.

Anyone else?

Agreed. :hook

If I understand your question, you are asking about when you do the next row and have to put a stitch where the decrease was made. Is that right?

If so, you can look at these two pictures and see the three loops that are worked off the hook from the decrease you made. The two loops on the left will bend down and become the base of the stitch and the loop on the right will become the top loop of the stitch and that loop is where you will make the stitch when doing the next row.

http://z.about.com/d/crochet/1/0/T/A/twotog4.jpg

http://www.crochet911.com/graphics/apr05_c5.jpg