could use suggestions/help

Lisa1308

Question

I am wanting to crochet this pilllow for my daughters archery coach, but am having issues with the black lines.  I am pretty new to crocheting, so I really only know back stiches, but I was doing single crochet for the black lines and 2 rows of dc for the colors.  Any suggestions on making the lines show up better?Also,  are there instructions for how to finish it off after the last black line in the white?  I'd like the pillow to end up square.

Any help or suggestions you can off are greatly apprecitated.

throwpillow,small,1000x-bg,f8f8f8-c,0,200,1000,1000.u1.jpg

5 answers to this question

So I assume you are crocheting in the round?  You could be crocheting in rows and using bobbins which would be more complicated.  Its pretty much going to be trial and error as you are creating your own pattern as you go.  You are going to have to try various things and if you dont like it pull it out and start over.  Have no idea what you mean when you said "you only know back stitches".  Did you mean basic stitches like single crochet, half double crochet, and double crochet.  For the black lines you could try half double crochet as its height is between a single and double crochet or else you could see if 2 rounds of single crochet look better.  Then what do you mean by finishing it off after last black line?  Are you wanting to go from a circle to a square?  There again its going to be trial and error to get the proportions right. There are some patterns out there for granny squares and possibly an afghan or two that go from round to square that would give you some idea how its done but you will have to figure it for your pillow.  It would probably be easier to make a round pillow.