Confusing question, please help!

Shiloh.Baudelaire

Question

Hi! I’m new to crocheting and picked up a new book! :) this book has a kind of confusing step though! The step says: 

2 sc, 2 sc in next st, six time. 

Does this mean 2 single crochets in each stitch? It’s just confusing because in an earlier step, it simply just calls for 2 sc in each st. Please help! Thank you!

6 answers to this question

^what she said. 

The conventional pattern writing rule is, when a pattern says '10 SC' and doesn't say where to put them, it means to put 1 stitch into each of the next 10 stitches.  If it wants you to put 10 stitches into 1 stitch (which is not impossible), it would specifically tell you which stitch to put them all into.

The conventional pattern writing rule is, when a pattern says '10 SC' and doesn't say where to put them, it means to put 1 stitch into each of the next 10 stitches. 

That is not my idea of good pattern writing.  A good pattern writer assumes that the person reading it needs highly detailed instrs - even if they don't.   I am at present dealing with a pattern where the designer assumes we know what she wants and she can present her instrs any old way.  Feh...

1 hour ago, Horsy said:

The conventional pattern writing rule is, when a pattern says '10 SC' and doesn't say where to put them, it means to put 1 stitch into each of the next 10 stitches. 

That is not my idea of good pattern writing.  A good pattern writer assumes that the person reading it needs highly detailed instrs - even if they don't.   I am at present dealing with a pattern where the designer assumes we know what she wants and she can present her instrs any old way.  Feh...

I'm with you, Horsy.  Too much detail/instructions is way better than not enough.

• Like 2