Granny Stitch Blanket keeps curving

Ameliaxa

Question

Hi! 
mom trying to make a granny stitch blanket but for some reason it keeps going in a circle instead of staying straight? Like it’s turning in on itself, not curling up. I thought at first my starting chain was too tight so I restarted with a much loser chain but it’s still happening. 
It kinda looks like I’m increasing by accident maybe? But I think I’m following the pattern correctly. I’m using the pattern on East crochet “Modern Granny Stitch Crochet Baby Blanket” 

4 answers to this question

Hi there.  In spite of my 'name' I'm not an expert on Granny Squares, BUT I have some guesses.

Things made center-out in the round are very much bound by the laws of geometry, pi x diameter = Circumference.  If you and the designer make different height stitches, it can be an issue - the pattern that works for the designer might come out nice and flat, but you or I might get a wavy or cupped result.  

'Going in on itself but not curling up' -- The 2 major issues are ruffling or cupping, and I think you are describing cupping.   Here is an example of cupping, the top photo sort of looks like a hill, but if you poke it in the middle the ends will flip up and look like a cup.  The 'going in on itself' sort of made me think of the first picture of the hill, but the best thing would be if you could post a photo here.  If you start a reply, a box comes up and there is an area at the bottom left where you can drag a photo.

I make short-ish stitches.  If I encounter a designer who makes tall-ish stitches, or even shorter stitches than mine, I have to make adjustments.  For my short-ish stitches I tend to get ruffling, which I can 'cure' by making taller stitches, or removing stitches.  If I happen to get cupping I'll usually try adding stitches, since my stitches are already short - it depends on the pattern.