grandmas christmas present/crochet hangers PLEASE help

kwattz

Question

hello all! i am new to the crochet world. very new. started last night, in fact. i need help with my grandmas christmas present. my great grandmother used to make these amazing crochet hangers that everyone in her family would receive on their birthday and at christmas time. she passed away about ten years ago, and unfortunately i did not learn how to make these beautiful hangers from her before she left. that being said, i want to honor her and my grandmother by continuing the tradition. i have been following this http://www.instructables.com/id/Yarn-Covered-Hangers/ which has been great! however, it doesn't produce the same effect. obviously my great grandmother was much more practiced than i am, but i don't think i am using a similar method, and i'd like to get it as close as possible. i've included a close up of my work (in multicolored yarn), and an example of hers in purple. can anyone tell what procedure she was using? does anyone have a better method or maybe just one you prefer? anything similar? thanks so much in advance, i'm hoping to make this christmas great with some happy tears!

IMG_0277.JPG

IMG_6830.JPG

IMG_2902.JPG

IMG_3889.JPG

IMG_6474.JPG

IMG_3948.JPG

5 answers to this question