Lost Stitches - How?

mrsnjonesjr

I'm playing around with a Tunisian Simple Stitch. I have to say it's really fun and I enjoy it!  :2blush   BUT, I'm still learning and having a hard time with the left edge. I've lost stitches along the way and can't figure out why or how and if I can add a stitch. I'm watching videos and it seems like I'm doing what they instruct me to do. Does anyone know how or if I can add in stitches or any tips to watch out for at the end? This is really for practice more than anything and I'm fine to restart but I want to make sure I'm understanding the concept before I start again.  :blink

Photo attached. 

post-77137-0-50993100-1459733995_thumb.jpg

I find it really easy to lose stitches when doing TSS.  I can see that you didn't skip any stitches in the middle, because your vertical lines are all lined up.  Other than counting, that's an easy way to see if you've missed a stitch.  But, I can see that you've had problems on the left edge.  In row 3 you added a stitch, which you tried to fudge in row 4.  Then in either row 5 or 6 you lost a stitch. 

Unfortunately, I don't know of any way to go back and add a stitch, other than ripping it out.  When you're doing TSS, it's similar to casting on and binding off in knitting.  When you get to the end of casting on, count your loops.  If you don't have the same number of loops every time, then you've missed/added a stitch.  That's how I keep track.  When you're binding off, you start with a chain (YO and pull through only 1 loop), you'll have the same number of loops as before the chain.  Then do your YO and pull through 2 loops the rest of the way.  If you forget that first chain, it'll throw off the left side of the row.