Border or No Border

Galathiel

Question

I'm very new to crocheting.  I've only made a few simple things (mainly to work on my tension .. I think it's good now!).  I've made a dog collar, pot holder, simple dog sweater (my 15 y.o. little dog was cold) and then found out my nephew's wife is pregnant with their first child, a girl.  I decided to crochet a baby blanket as a gift. 

I used the sc,dc,sc,dc pattern and made 12 rows of a color (I used lavender, pink and green), separated by 6 rows of ivory.  I'm finally finished with this huge thing (I haven't measured the finished product, but estimated that it would be 38"x40" when I got through with the length) and trying to decide whether to edge it or not.  I first thought nah, then thought well maybe a sc row around the edge, then thought maybe the reverse stitch, and finally a picot border was also suggested.  I  tried the reverse stitch, but didn't care for the look of it on this blanket.

Any other easy suggestions?  I like the idea of picot, because it would basically also be a sc around the edge, but the number of stitches across (121) doesn't lend itself to an even gap between points.  Is there a way to work around that and it still look right?

Also, when doing a border, where do I put the corner?  In the last stitch of the row or the first stitch (does that make sense?  For example, corner of the project is 90 deg.  Do I put the crochet 3 in the last stitch on the top (horizontal) side or the first stitch on the vertical side?

Obviously I have no idea what I'm doing.

14 answers to this question

It sounds beautiful!