Doily won't lie flat!

EpixStudiosNH

Question

Hi everyone! I am attempting to crochet a doily that is going to go on the back of a loveseat. This is my first time ever making one so I am not sure if I am doing this right or not. I have followed the pattern to the letter with the exception that I am using size 10 thread instead of 30 (I wanted the doily to be bigger). I am using a size 10 steel hook. As I am working on row 16 I am wondering if it is going to flatten out once I am done, if I have to iron it, or if I have done something wrong and need to start over again.

So long story short, when you make larger doilies, do it look like this along the way?

Thank you!!

post-73459-0-35589700-1417614667_thumb.jpg

13 answers to this question

Welcome to the ville :hook

Your link to the pattern won't work because Crochetville policies prohibit web archive sites.

A 10 steel hook is pretty small for sz 10 thread, but the inner part seems to look fine, not too tight. Often with pineapple patterns, you have to get to the tip of the pineapples before the stitches pull themselves into shape and lie more flat. The middle psrt can bunch up a lot because there are a lot of sts there, but further on it does work out. Just the nature of pineapple stitch pattern.

Your tension might be too tight and if stitch count is incorrect, it may cause puckering.

I usually use a steel size 7 or 9 hook for size 10 thread and never have any problems with puckering or waving.

After you block the finished doily, it may lay flat then.

Here's a link for a list (page bottom) of thread sizes and what hooks to use.

And another good reference link.

Hope these help.

It's gonna pucker a bit because your hook is too small for the size 10 thread but you can fix that with blocking.