advice for crocheting garments

While I was checking my email on my lunch break today, I came across the newest Lion Brand newsletter, and I immediately fell in love with the Crochet Persimmon Pullover (it's a free pattern, you can pull it up on the LB website). I've never done a garment of any kind before--I pretty much have stuck to doing scarves, hats, afghans, and granny squares. I was wondering if anyone who has a bit of experience doing garments has any overall feelings or advice to give regarding crocheting sweaters and such! I don't want to buy an expensive yarn and end up either hating the project or ending up with a sweater that doesn't fit, etc. Thanks!

The best advice I can give you regarding garments or wearables is to make good friends with a tape measure. Get good measurements of yourself (if you are making the garment for yourself) and of anyone you are wanting to make a garment for them. I make wearables for myself and others all the time, but for myself, what is crucial is the measurements for the arms and if it's something that is going to go around my hips to make sure that measurement...

Read over whatever pattern you decide to use carefully and for wearables especially I make up a gauge swatch first.

Even back in the days when I didn't use other people's patterns and never made up a gauge swatch or even take down measurements for myself, what I would do would be to try on as I worked the garment...for me this would work quite well, but trying to make something for someone else is harder obviously.

Another thing you can do is to take a blouse, sweater or other top that you like the fit of from your closet or drawer and use that as a measuring guide for the project you want to make. I did that when I made my husband a sweater for the first time. Worked great. But measurements with a tape measure is the best way to have a more accurate fit I believe.