How much?? And what pattern?

faithpa76

Question

I want to make dh a nice scarf for his birthday (October) so I'm looking at wools and wool blends now - I've never worked with wool before but I'm eager to try.

Anyway, he uses short scarves normally (like the ones you'd wrap around your neck under a dress coat) so I'm looking for something that will work well for that. And something very masculine. I was thinking maybe just a simple sc/dc/sc/dc/sc scarf so the yarn itself is still the main attraction of the scarf but it isn't boring.

I LOVE this - would it work for a scarf? Either the charcoal or heather grey (gotta stick with those neutrals since I think he's going to need a new coat this year).

http://secure.elann.com/productdisp.asp?NAME=Classic+Elite+Gatsby&Season=&Company=&Cat=Bargains&ProductType=5&OrderBy=+Order+By+Bargain+Desc&Count=317

How much do I need?? I've only really worked with weights so I don't know how to figure it out. Opinions on patterns (and whether or not to fringe a "manly" guy scarf, and how much of a difference that yarn will make in yarn quantities) would be appreciated, too.

5 answers to this question

The weight is listed, too... 3.5 oz.

I'd think for a short scarf, you might be able to get away with two of them... but I'm not sure. A skein of Lion Brand Wool Ease is 3 oz, just for comparison.

I like my scarves wide and loooooong... I like to wrap it around my neck twice and still have it hang out the bottom of my coat. LOL!

I'm such a goon - I looked at so many different yarns I missed the weight on that one! I still wasn't sure how much I'd need though, I haven't made any scarves.

Thanks!

I'd probably buy at least three, maybe more even - that way I could crochet until it was the length I wanted and not have to worry about running out. Having extra is much better, IMO, at least you could make a hat to match!