Need Advice on Using New Yarn

Janie

Question

OK, it may not be new to you all, but it is to me.

I recently bought a pkg of "mill ends" yarn. I'm not sure what type it is, since it had no details on the label. Anyway, I was thrilled because it's very pretty and I usually won't spend the extra money to buy the fancy types until I know I can create something with them. The trouble is I'm finding it impossible to work with the darned stuff. I would describe it this way. The texture is a little fuzzy, but not too much, the strand of yarn is wavy....I can't SEE where one strand starts and the next one starts. I believe LionBrand makes a similar one, I'll have to look further into it so I can attempt a more accurate description. Does this make any sense???

I was wondering if anyone might have tips for practicing working with this type of yarn...I've been crocheting for about 30 yrs and have never run into this before. I'd love to try some of the other new yarns but since this happened I don't dare venture forward and buy any! Any help will be much appreciated.

7 answers to this question

What size is it? Worsted? bulky? One thing I've found with the newer fuzzier yarns is I have to go up on hook size.......way up. Also- sometimes I try several of my hooks before finding one that works best with a particular yarn..(OK I've got a pretty large collection of crochet hooks- and I bet you do , too........) For example I was working with a newer yarn yesterday- I ended up going up 4 hook sizes, and trying 4 hooks in that size (different brands and materials) to see which worked better. Believe it or not- there are differences.

Other things that might help...looser tension...and working your yarn with a regular yarn...the 2 held together. Don't know why that works but it does...