Learning with Granny

I am still struggling with completing a granny ghan I've been working on for 3-4 years. In fact, if you looked at my old posts, I post about every 6 months, complaining about it! :hook

I'm nearing the end, and while it's a saaaaaaaad lookin' thing, I can't help but reflect on how much I've actually learned doing a project this style for the first time. It's so cool after crocheting for so long to still be able to learn something totally new.

Always tuck in the ends. Don't think you are gonna go back. It's worse later, trust me! And whip stitching - who knew it left a kind of pattern? Not me, so all my teeny granny sguares are not exactly flowing gracefully into a giant whole!

And all WW are not created equally, are they? You need to stick with what you start with or figure out a compromise, or your squares will not be the same size in the end. Fun to learn that!

It's getting done, and if I ever (please stop me if I do!)do another project like this, I will be much more careful and just plain more experienced and avoid some of these errors. The ripple ghans I do are actually quite presentable, and someday (but I really hope not!) if I do another granny, it will look better, too. In the meantime, my poor BFF is stuck with this one, if she ever gets it, and has promised to appreciate it for what it is (I also bribed her with a nice Xmas tree skirt and a couple cute ghans for the grand kids!):yes

I know what you mean! I have had 2 grannies (1 adult, 1 baby) started for about 4 years now! Every once in awhile I'll make a few more squares, but I'm dreading the time I have enough & need to put them together!

I hear ya too. I started one with the intentions of using up my stash. I have come to the conclusion that if keep that frame of mind, the afghan will be able to wrap around the world about 4 times.....