middle of doilies cupping when crocheting?

kiwikitti

I'm new to this whole doily thing and am working on a pattern right now. http://pandacrochet.8m.com/momscrystal.html However, I was wondering if it was normal for the middle to cup a bit? I don't know if it's just my gauge being off since I need to train my fingers more to know the tension of the thread instead of WW yarn. Or maybe the pattern? Or maybe that is just something normal that happens?

Either way, I know that you block it afterwards to get it nice and flat. Would blocking help eliminate that little cup? I started the pattern over about half way through thinking maybe it is tension but it is still kind of cupping.

Now, if this is totally normal and just blocking would help get rid of it, that would make me very happy! I just don't know if that is a normal thing with doilies or if I should be working far far harder on tension.

I ve had the same problem with some of my pieces, sometimes is a matter of getting your tension tighter as you go , sometimes it s the pattern, but the good thing is , that once you block it , it will be perfect :) You will get the hang of holding the tension pretty soon (try running the thread through your fingers :) )

:cheer:cheer I have printed off the pattern and tried it and the writer does say that it cups a little on row 4 but improves on the next couple of rows.

I think it could be fixed, simply by doing only 4 CH, instead of 6, at the start and by putting 1CH extra between the shells on row 3.

It is a well written pattern and very easy to follow.

Have fun.

Colleen:hug

I just got home from work, and was catching up on here, came across this thread and I just had to laugh. I started this exact doily last night and was having the same problem :lol. I frogged it, had the same problem again, frogged it again, started with a chain 4 instead of chain 6 and it is working much better. It is still cupping slightly, but I can work with it.