Crochet-a-long hearts doily HELP

laughlovehook

Question

I'm doing this pattern. And for some reason I am stuck on starting round 8. I also couldn't figure out the end of round 7.

From Round 7: did the repeat from * around thing till I got to the last heart and the final cluster on the left side. Ending with a ch3 and dtrc in top of first cluster, forming the last loop on round. :think What the heck is a dtrc? The only thing I can think of is a double triple crochet. But how to do one of those.. I have no clue.

So from there, I am at the top right of a heart. So how would I do the (ch 3, 2dc....) thing that starts round 8. Does that go in the same stitch that the last stitch from round 7? Or what?

I'm a pattern newbie.. I've only been ready patterns for less than 6 months, and I've been able to tackle any pattern... until now :yes *mumble grumble* :no

8 answers to this question

I love that pattern! It was my very first doily!

Yes, you're crocheting all that in the chain 9 space, if I remember correctly. It's been a while, so I'm not exactly certain.

If you look at the picture, you can see that that section starts the border around the pineapples.

I agree with you about patterns. I loooove diagrams. I did the entire Chrysanthemum Tea Shawl using the diagram. No interpretation there, just follow the symbols.

I figured that was how I did the dtrc. But my main question is the pattern...

But thank you for the link! Will add it to my reference

The reason for ending that last row with the ch/dtrc is so that you are at the correct spot to begin the next round. (you can see how complicated the optional method is if you have to break off and restart in that spot.)

You are in the middle of a chain loop and can just start to form that cluster of dc where you are at :wlol

:cheer I agree with Darski, they are ending with the hook near the centre of what would have been a CH9 loop.