Problem making visors/brims

kabukiprincess

Question

Hia, I'm having real problems making visor beanies. I purchased the visor beanie pattern from croshaydesign.com but can't get it to stand. If anybody could give me some advice or show me another pattern similar to this one I'd be soooo greatful! I saw a picture in another post from crochet today magazine that looks like it might be useful but I can't get hold of it in the uk. Anybody willing to pass on or sell a copy please let me know :)

Thanks for your time

P.S.

I'm a newbie to crochet so please make things insultingly simple

7 answers to this question

Hia, I'm having real problems making visor beanies. I purchased the visor beanie pattern from croshaydesign.com but can't get it to stand. If anybody could give me some advice or show me another pattern similar to this one I'd be soooo greatful! I saw a picture in another post from crochet today magazine that looks like it might be useful but I can't get hold of it in the uk. Anybody willing to pass on or sell a copy please let me know :)

Thanks for your time

P.S.

I'm a newbie to crochet so please make things insultingly simple

the best way to make the brim stand away from the beanie is by using what I call "punch Needle crochet" :rofl

it is just about using Front Post Single Crochet to force the brim stitches to go straight out from the hat rather than just hanging down from the hat.

Here is a site that shows how to make a FPdc but the SC is just as easy and you don't need to start with a yarn over

http://www.crochetcabana.com/stitches/stitches-fpdc-bpdc.htm

The "post" stitches are a good thing to add to your "I can do this in crochet - list"

Some people have trouble with Post stitches, trust me... if you just do what it says when it seems to make no sense it will work.

I'll subscribe to this if you need help again

One other trick... use hdc at the edges to get more distance so the hat can go 'round' your head but the brim stays out.