Gauge

OK I Haven't ever really 'messed' with the gauge. I haven't ever made anything that was wearable (except my moms neck warmers) that was fitted. Why do patterns say gauge is SO IMPORTANT? If like for example I am making a purse does it really matter? I always tend to buy extra yarn (save the receipts) so that if I do need more I have it or if not I take it back and trade for the next project. Can anyone tell me why Gauge is so important?

I'm the same as you. I think the gauge is only meant for showing you how they came up with the size they made. At least that's what makes sense to me. My gauge is NEVER the same as the ones in patterns say. I don't mind though, because I never make anything that it really matters with.

I guess if you crochet very loosely, and the pattern is for a clutch purse, you could end up with a tote bag. Ok, I'm not good at putting this in words, but I may crochet differently (looser or tighter) with the same size hook, making my work a different size than yours. Also, if you use a lighter or heavier yarn, it can throw off gauge. A lot of times, I never bother, but some things do make a difference.:D Was that clear as mud???:think

My take on gauge is (this is for wearables, I rarely check gauge for anything else.), say your swatch is supposed to measure 4" wide and 4" high with 15 dc and 5 rows. Your swatch measures 4 1/2" x 4 1/2". If your begining stitch count is 120 stitches you would be 4" wider than you were supposed to be. (8-15 stitch sections at 1/2" larger equals 4") Same goes for the height or length. The reverse is also true....if your swatch was 1/2" smaller your finished garment would be 4" too small...So the moral of this confusing story is....gauge does matter!

I'm sure that was as clear as mud!

So I get it that gauge matters if it is something that you are going to wear and that you really want it to fit *S* but for something like a purse? no biggie? right???