Stupid question about doilies

Hi,

This is my first post on this site and I have a very silly question.I just started learning crochet.My question is are doilies meant to placed on tables?And can we keep some thing on then like a vase or candle stand or are they just placed on table with out any thing.I hope some one will answer to my silly question.

Sameena.

I believe that doilies were originally intended as decorative protection for furniture when placing vases, etc. on said furniture. What you do with a doily is purely up to you. You can frame it and hang it, wear it on your head, or place it on a table, or over the back of a chair.

I've been on a doily-making kick lately...last year I designed a doily for the first time and when my sister saw it, she thought they were perfect for placing under her African Violets...so I made her several...

I have the swan doily made from the Crochet Pattern A Day Calendar on our dining table with a candle in the middle...

I always think of them as very pretty spider webs and think of Charlotte from Charlotte's web...

I like the suggestion of a small collection of framed doilies on the wall...very nice...

I have a lot of colonial Silky Oak furniture. Doilies look fantastic on bare wood with a vase, or a candle hurricane, or collection of photographs on them. It is a traditional look, but very homey and one I feel exudes warmth.

I have also used them to decorate cushions.

Here I go telling this story for the 50000th time:

My husband's mom made him one when he was younger(as in young single man). He had sat a plant on it and over the course of time his watering the plant (pot leaked or he splashed whatever) it rotted the doily. He (brokenheartedly) told his mom a couple weeks before christmas one year and she made him another one for Christmas. It's a doily design that her mother had made and her mothers mother made etc so there is no pattern, at least that we are aware of.