Pattern question....help!

jchllm

Question

I wasa given an old pattern by my husband's aunt over the weekend and I watched her stitch of it and it was easy. I just have a couple of silly questions that most 'normal' stitches would know but remember......I'm a newbie.

1. Skip 2 sts & in next st do 3 db......does that mean to do it in the 2nd or the 3rd stitch?

2. Turn, chain 3, do 2 db in 1st st......does that mean to do the db in the 1st new stitch that I just made in the chain or on the existing work?

This is for 'shell afghan'. A very simple pattern but just a couple little queries.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Lisa :hook

9 answers to this question

my suggestion would to do the pattern exactly as it is written. You will know if it is correct after the first two rows. You didn't say how many chains it called for but that is what I would do. I know you would hate to frog, but better to frog and fix the first two rows now huh? :hook

If the pattern says that the turning CH counts as first double crochet, then you would start with the next one, if it doesn't say that, then you would double crochet in the very first stitch...

I agree with last post. Do the pattern as written for the first couple of rows. If it doesn't come out right then you know you have missed something, but it may be just fine...

Good luck!

P.S. We were all newbies at one time or another! Don't feel bad asking, I still have to ask some things that I'm not familiar with! :hook

I would go with what everyone else says of try it and see after a few rows.

But, it sounds like you're not exactly sure what the pattern is saying so here's my take on it (and I could be wrong so do what you think is right.

1. Skip 2 sts & in next st do 3 db......does that mean to do it in the 2nd or the 3rd stitch?

THat means you do it in the 3rd stitch from where you last did one. (You should have two stitiches inbetween the the new and the last stitch taht weren't done.