Entrelac tunisian crochet issues

Nicolapen

I don't know how to make it straight as you are working it, but I've seen videos on various ways to 'fill in' the triangles to make a border after the fact.  I think at least one of them was something on the order of starting at the edge with a short stitch, and making increasingly taller and taller stitches until you hit the low point, and then reverse the order of the stitches; repeat.

I admit I'm no expert on Tunisian, but I did make a baby blanket years ago that was 1 row of entrelac and 2 rows of "Catherine Wheels" *, and it had straight edges.  It probably was in a Crochet World magazine but there may be similar free ones out there.  That would solve the problem, it probably started with the top half of a wheel an ended with a bottom half, so the edges would be straight across.  

I'll root around and see if I can find that pattern or a similar one.

*if you aren't familiar with these, the wheels are made over 2 rows:  an upside down shell stitch on the first row, and a right side up shell stitch centered over the upside down one in the next row.

Whoa, this is sort of funny, bottom photo is my blanket, pattern photo is at the top.  (Ravelry has asked to use a couple my doily photos on the pattern page, I must have forgotten about this one).  It doesn't say the pattern is available anywhere but the magazine tho.  I couldn't find another one with the Catherine Wheels.   https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/tunisian-shells-baby-blanket

Kim Guzman is the Queen of Tunisian, she has a free pattern that is 'similar to entrelac' but it has a softer look to the edges than classic entrelac that might interest you. 

Here is a free pattern that fills in the edges with half squares to make them straight.

From Red Heart, filling in the edges.