Border Ideas Requested

Chainone

Question

Hello,

I am currently working on a large bedspread. It is my first time working with granny squares, and the largest blanket I have attempted :)

I am soliciting some ideas for a border from you kind folks. Here is an example of one of the squares, they will all be identical.

1.jpg.1c93aaf8d18b546cf2d1ec7ca25bf39c.jpg

If all goes to plan, the blanket will be 21 squares x 18 squares (90" x 77") (231cm x 198 cm) However, I may adjust the dimensions as I get enough squares together and it turns out it is too big or too small.

World and personal events have greatly increased the time it has taken me to do this project. Currently I am about a year into the project and I am nearly done with the 3rd round, the red circle shown in the image. That leaves just the last white square border. I estimate this will take me 3-6 months. After that, I will need a plan for a border.

I thought of doing a simple ripple, but maybe one of you creative folks has a better idea? :)

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and please include images if you have them.

7 answers to this question

A suggestion before you get to a  final border - join these squares as you go, if you haven't planned that already.  I may be misinterpreting what you said, but it sounds like you are making 21x18=378 squares, one round at a time (378 white centers, then add round 2 to all of them, then round 3 to all of them, etc)?  So the last round of each square is also the joining-together step.

I would keep the border simple, since this is a simple geometric pattern you don't want a clashing frilly lace border for example. Since if they are all the same, once assembled they will already have a cream outline, make a round of orange, then red, then white again in plain sc or dc, OR treat the blanket like 1 giant granny square and make a 'granny round' in each of the colors all the way around. 

3 hours ago, Granny Square said: