Crochet Poof with fabric combo

Amy C

Question

Hey everyone!

I live in Japan and unfortunately wool and yarn in general is pretty expensive over here. I'm still learning, so am maybe around an advanced beginner level for crocheting. I was looking to make a floor poof and have seen some fabulous patterns online, but with supplies and logistics being as shaky as it is with this pandemic, I'm trying to think of some alternatives that are cost and time effective for making it (in the end I hope it will be used similar to a bean bag :) ). Since it is a bit expensive to get actual wool, I have been playing with the idea of crocheting a flat pattern such as for a rug, and attach it to fabric for the bottom as a beanbag...Has anyone seen something like this where the crochet pattern is only for a portion of the design, and the rest is fabric? Does it sound like a horrible idea (such as setting the chair off balance, etc)? I have seen some pillows where the front was a crocheted pattern and the back was a fabric, but I don't know if this would look awful as a poof...

If I do the whole poof in yarn it would probably need to be in tshirt fabric as I can fabric relatively cheaply still which are stretchy, but most of the patterns require extensive amounts of fabric too (perhaps no avoiding it though?)

Any advice or patterns which might fit my current situation would be greatly welcome! 

Cheers!

5 answers to this question