Gauge help with repeats

starfloater

Question

Hi all,

I am hoping someone can help me.  I am trying to make my second blanket to donate to charity and I can't get started because I'm stuck understanding the gauge in the pattern.  It says to repeat and 9 rows but I can't figure out what am I suppose to repeat.  I have attached a photo. Sorry if this is a silly question, I'm still a beginner and trying to understand terms. Thank you in advance for trying to help me!

It states: Gauge: In pattern, two repeats and 9 rows =5''. Does this mean that I need to do a few of the clusters then measure them? Is a cluster a repeat?

11 answers to this question

Hi!

First, you'll need to remove the photo.  It's against forum rules to post photos that you don't own and to post pictures of patterns.  It's okay to post your own photos and to type the parts of instructions that you don't understand.

A gauge is not that critical for an afghan, but it will give you practice doing one.  What it means is to follow the instructions for the first rows, but not the whole thing.  The repeats are given once and then again within asterisks (or stars) followed by repeat across or X many times.  They want you to do what is within the stars twice for 9 rows.  That should measure 5" by 5".

When you're doing a gauge it's always a good idea to do more than what is suggested.  The edges are unreliable for measuring.  So, you should do 4 repeats and at least 11-13 rows.  Then measure the 2 repeats in the middle to get the width.  Measure the middle 9 rows to get the height. 

For an afghan as long as you're close to 5" each direction, then it's good.  If you're under 5", switch to a larger hook.  If you're over 5", switch to a smaller hook.  Repeat the swatch until the measurements are close to 5".