Brenda Grobler's "Tatum's Jacket" Pattern

Lexi1179

Question

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to crochet (been knitting for years and used crocheting mostly for edging, seaming etc.), and I've started my first actual crochet garment pattern: Brenda Grobler's "Tatum's Jacket," to be exact.

I'm confused about one of the instructions for the 2nd row (and after that, the 3rd row) of the shell-pattern section (the "skirt," as the pattern calls it).

Here is the link to the pattern instructions:
http://vinniscolourspatterns.co.za/nikkim-patterns/

Scroll down to listing P22: Tatum's Jacket

Bear in mind: This pattern USES THE UK-TERMS for crochet, not the US-terms. (So "1 treble" or "1 tr" translates to US terms as "1 double crochet" or "1 dc".)

Could someone please tell me: How does one make "2 tr between 1st and 2nd tr"? Or, similarly, make tr stitches between "2nd and 3rd tr of shell"?

I realise the idea must be to use the row just worked below as a guide, and to find stitch spaces in it, into which the current row's stiches should be made.

But I can't understand *where* to find the s

I worked out how to post photos at last.

Be gentle, and remember this is my very first ever entirely-crochet project!

I may still re-do the sleeves to try and make the seams neater. But overall, I'm happy. And it is just my practise one ☺️ I'll also still block it.

I used up quite a few yarn-stash quarter skeins - they were great practise for changing colours and joining new yarns.

post-77450-0-76997500-1460112619_thumb.jpeg

Hello again, everyone -

Contrary to my expectations, the shell pattern skirt was no trouble at all (thanks to the tip about the "in between" spaces on stitchdiva! Thanks again!), and definitely also contrary to my expectations, I'm having a terrible time seaming...

The shoulder seams are fine (I did them using slip stitch), but the sleeves look awful when sewn in, no matter which way I try the seam...