What is the proper way to hold the yarn?

Denny2004

Question

Hi all, I'm very new to crocheting. I wanted to know how to properly hold the yarn when working on a project. Ive working on making a hat and i have to stop every few minutes because my hands are cramping up.

Any tips would be appreciated!

8 answers to this question

Hi, welcome to the ville :hook

There is no absolute way to hold the yarn (or the hook). It sounds like you may be gripping both tightly, if you get cramps. So try to loosen up your grip, and take frequent breaks to move around a bit and stretch your hands. I will come back with some links for you on some recommended ways to hold.

What kind of yarn and hook are you using? Are you following a pattern?

As Kathy said, there are many ways to hold the yarn and a couple of ways to hold the hook.  Are you right handed or left handed?  I assume right, but if you're left handed just swap what I say below.

The two ways to hold the hook are like a pencil and like a knife.  Some are more comfortable one way and others are more comfortable the other way.  Try crocheting both ways to see which one works for you.  Personally I find that holding a hook like a knife is more comfortable, because my right index and thumb are stretched out and control the hook.  My other 3 fingers are loose around the hook, just to hold it steady.