How to pick which yarn to use?

hannielou

Question

Hello, I'm new to crochet but would like to learn as my sister is pregnant and I would like to make the new baby some lovely things. I've decided to start with a granny square blanket, I think this is a good beginner project. However, I don't know what yarn I should use! What is the difference in yarn weight? Am I better going for cotton or acrylic? I read that cotton is not as flexible so not sure it would be the best option for a beginner. I would like to end up with quite a chunky, soft blanket, mainly I want it to be really soft. I'm also not sure how to judge how much I will need?

Also, is there any difference between knitting wool and crochet yarn? I've seen a some wool that tells you the size of knitting needles to use but not size of crochet hook, are these interchangeable?

Sorry for so many questions but there was much more to it than I expected, I thought I just bought the yarn depending on the crochet hook size! Would really appreciate any advice!

Thank you :)

22 answers to this question

Re: stitch markers, I use bobbie pins (Kirby grips? these things).  In the US you can get about 50 for $1.

I don't think I ever heard the term Kirby grip, interesting!

I still mark first/last st sometimes, esp in sc...those little stitches just hide from me! lol

You said you were in England. If you haven't bought yarn yet, you could check out the Stylecraft yarns. The DK weight would be good for a baby blanket. They are inexpensive and work up quite nicely. I'm in the US, but I buy it from the UK. You would have the advantage of being able to see it first. Special DK is 100% acrylic, Life DK is 25% wool (I haven't used this one). The come in lots of colors. The bank suggests a 4 mm hook, but you could, as someone said, go down a bit. For this yarn I wouldn't go much larger unless you crochet tightly. 

I buy online, obviously, but you could probably also find it locally.