Confused about a pattern

charl

Question

I'm relatively new to crochet - mostly a knitter.  I found a great pattern though and paid for it on line.

Trouble is now I'm confused at a certain point, but the designer is only available on Facebook.

I don't have a Facebook account and have no way to contact her.  Is it OK for me to ask questions about the pattern and post it on a Forum like this?

Thanks,

Charl

14 answers to this question

Sure.  Don't post the whole pattern, but you can post the row instructions that are causing confusion.  

What's the name of the pattern, or is there a way you can post a link so we can see what it looks like?

And welcome to the 'ville, and to crochet!  :hook

Thanks so much for the reply.  Wasn't sure what the proper etiquette was on posting paid patterns.

The one I'm having trouble with is called the Wendy Blanket.  It's a combination of granny squares and stripes.

When I get to Round 4: Join the new color in any corner space. Ch3 (counts as first dc), 2dc, ch3, 3dc in same corner
space, ch1, 3dc in next ch1 space, ch1, 3dc-ch3-3dc in corner. Continue with 1 cluster of 3dc on the sides
and 3dc-ch3-3dc in the corners. End with a ss in the 3rd ch from first cluster of dc. Cut off yarn.
Repeat round 4 until you have 8 rows of stripes.

I get how to do Round 4, but I'm just not understanding the last line which says "Repeat round 4 until you have 8 stripes."

How did I get from Granny squares to stripes?  Then the next lines say: " Next we are going to make the squares. As you make the blanket bigger you will need more and more squares for every round."

Now it's back to squares again?

I'm lost.  Thanks.

Charl

looking at the picture and directions.   To quote her  " I started this blanket with an 8 row granny square." and "Repeat round 4 until you have 8 rows of stripes."   First she referrers to 'rounds' , then switches to say 'stripes'.