Advice on what stitches to use for a giant crochet funnel/tornado

Christine Dake

Question

Hi.

I'm an artist, and next year I will be doing an art installation. I want to create crocheted funnels that hang from the ceiling and go down onto the floor. I want them at their widest to be a few feet around. I am teaching myself to crochet specifically for this. I was wondering if any of you would have an idea on what stitches would be best. I can look everything up on Youtube to learn it, but I don't know the language of crochet, except for now, chain stitch and double crochet. 

Any advice would be well appreciated!

Sincerely,

Christine Dake, NY

13 answers to this question

I would use single crochet, and be aware these are going to take a long time to make because you want them so large. Also you need to figure out how to make them hold their shapes ~ stuff them, use hoops, etc. It will have to be fairly lightweight or the funnels will droop.

You mentioned floor to ceiling. That will be very large pieces. I would use double crochet (dc) or triple crochet (tr) to make it go as fast as possible. Also, a bulky yarn like a "6 weight" (on yarn labels) or even a type of lightweight rope- something that would accommodate a Q hook or even larger if you can find such a hook. If going with some kind of rope, you could always dye it if necessary. Hope your show goes well.

Thank you! I woke up this morning with an idea of the yarn. Let me upload some photos... Okay, so what I saw in my mind this morning is something a friend made me years ago, but I just saw that it's knitted, not crocheted. Is there a similar stitch in crochet? (see picture). I've also attached the sketch of the installation I will be doing. It's a year long project, so there's no rush. I'm just trying to get ahead.

post-73572-0-46715700-1418833971_thumb.jpg

post-73572-0-12403700-1418833978_thumb.jpg