Has anyone made this Bernat Christmas Tree Skirt?--Finished

greyhoundgrandma

Question

http://www.yarnspirations.com/patterns/christmas-tree-skirt-198378.html

I am wondering if anyone has made this tree skirt already.

I have started it in the Happy Holidays yarn called for in the pattern. It does not look like it is going to be 50" in diameter---more like 36" .I don't usually make a gauge swatch (yes, I know I should), I check the gauge when I get part of the pattern made. But the gauge here is for sc and the pattern has no sc. I don't know if I'm that far off gauge or not. If it's only 36" I don't think it will look good around a very large tree. I ordered the yarn so I can't just change hook size and pick up more yarn at the store.

I see several problems with the pattern already. The beginning ch 114 makes twelve motifs instead of eleven. The written instructions for row 17 don't match the chart. I'm not very good at reading ahead on patterns, but the written one seems like the correct one.

I have two motifs made and can't decide whether to keep going or rip it out and use the yarn for something else.

7 answers to this question

I haven't used this yarn, but 13 stitches across 4" is only the tiniest fraction over 3 stitches per inch, which I would personally need a bigger hook than a G to achieve with most worsted weight yarns.

I've made a doily that looks almost identical to this (it had a more solid center, of course, and 12 trees).  My pattern source was a probably not legitimate one on the web, It occurs to me that the original may have been a Bernat pattern that Bernat has now re-tooled as a tree skirt and made some goofs in translating it to a tree skirt.