First ever pattern, just learning, need some help

Aerianna Curtis

Question

Hello,

So I am completely new to this, Im making a crocodile stitch hooded cape, (probaby hard but Im a quick learner and why do something easy and be bored)

So I (kinda) understand that when my pattern tells me ch 177, that means Im to make 177 chains in the row correct?

Then the next instructions for row 1 are working from the wrong side v-stitch in 6th chain from hook (first 3 chains count as a double crochet), *skip next 2 chains, v-stitch in next chain, repeat from * across to last chain, double crochet in last chain; turn - (57 v stitchs & 2 double crochet)

Now am I to understand that I am to make 177 chains as my, Ill call it base row that Im working off of, and then my technical "row 1" in working from the wrong side and doing the row 1 instructions? And because I am doing a double crochet, is a chain just a basic loop or is that what a double crochet is?

Just wanted to say that I am trying crochet because I cant knit because of my hand and wrist, and was told Id be able to crochet quite easily ( guess thats once I understand) haha.

Thank you for any help you can give me :)

11 answers to this question

You made your foundation chain--177--then work back down the chain with your first "real" row of stitches--the v stitches. You might want to practice the different stitches in a small piece to get comfortable with making the stitches and with tension.

You made your foundation chain--177--then work back down the chain with your first "real" row of stitches--the v stitches. You might want to practice the different stitches in a small piece to get comfortable with making the stitches and with tension.

Thank you, Im discovering that with this first row, I keep undoing some of my loops because they are too tight and sometimes look squished. Just trying to get the good way to hold it all so it works for me I guess :)