So hard to slip stitch into top of chain 3

Lesley1978

Question

I am fairly new to all this crochet business and only been learning (myself through the net and books) and I am finding some parts quite difficult. I am making granny squares for practice and I always struggle when finishing off a find with getting my hook to go though the top of the chain 3. I understand that I need to put it under the 2 top bumps of the stitch so that th back bump is under my hook but I really struggle with it. My hook won't go through easily and it's really fiddly, then when I do get my hook through I really struggle to get it to come out easily again.

Please tell me it's just a case of practice makes perfect and I will get the hang of it. I would love to try a ripple blanket but the thought of trying to get my hook through every chain stitch like his along the foundation chain is really putting me off!

10 answers to this question

Is your chain stitch very tight?  It should not be hard to slip stitch into a chain.

There is a substitute for the chain3 at the beginnning of a row/round, the chainless dc http://www.ravelry.com/projects/TXCr1cket/chainless-starting-dc-stitch---updated

Where you are starting a new yarn you can use the standing dc http://blog.lionbrand.com/2009/10/01/motif-afghan-crochet-along-crochet-techniques-part-i/  scroll down a bit

Those will actually create a dc stitch and you just treat it like any other dc.  

It sounds like your chain is too tight.

The size of the loop of the chain should fit comfortably around the hook that you're using.  A lot of times, especially when first starting out, the tendency is to tighten the loop around the hook as it slides down the throat (the part that narrows from the shaft to the head) of the hook.  It should fit around the shaft (the fat part that is the length of the hook).