What's the best way to finish this?

JilliePop

Question

Hi All.

This year I'm crocheting snowflake ornaments for all of my students.  I'm using ILTY white sparkle.  They're turning out quite pretty, but they seem to curl in a bit.  I'm trying to figure out the best way to finish them, and need some help.

My first question is should I block them to make them lay more flat and make the lacy stitches stand out better?  If so, I'll have to "kill" the acrylic, and I've never done that before.  Any pointers so I don't melt them?

My second question is should I stiffen them?  If so, can you stiffen acrylic yarn?  Is it the same as stiffening cotton thread?  Again, I've never done that, so I would love some pointers if you have them.

My third question is should I do both?  I want the stitches to be a bit more defined, but I don't want the snowflakes to be too floppy. 

Thanks so much in advance!

10 answers to this question

you can block acrylic without killing it.  I believe it is possible to steam it gently, here is a blog post about steaming http://beadknitter.blogspot.com/2009/03/you-can-block-acrylic.html.  you could try just wetting them and pinning the points out, that can't hurt anything.  

You might look up the posts of jrnlyst here on Crochetville.  She has made thousands of snowflakes and has very good instructions on her posts.  I can't remember her blog addy.  Maybe someone here can help us there?