help, first attempts

crochetbelle2010

Question

HI everyone

Newbie here, I have always admired crochet, my daughter has about 10 crochet blankets and will not go to sleep without them, I'm pregnant at the moment too so really want to try crochet and make some gorgeous things for the new baby.

I have attached pictures of my first attempts, I struggled at the end of each row to keep them in line, it was actually meant too be a square shape but each row seemed to get shorter and shorter, 

Please give me some tips on this and for making baby blankets

Thanks

post-68826-0-04935400-1381785528_thumb.jpgpost-68826-0-13962700-1381785912_thumb.jpgpost-68826-0-31757900-1381785967_thumb.jpgpost-68826-0-15140200-1381786005_thumb.jpg

post-68826-0-57682000-1381786088_thumb.jpg

9 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville and crochet!

I have a suggestion.  For learning to recognize your stitches, I think it would be better to stick to less 'busy' yarn like the pink/grey until you have the basics down pat.  Solid colors, or subtley varigated ones (like much pastel baby yarn) are a little better.

You are making a very common mistake for new crocheters.  It takes a bit of practice to recognize the first and last stitch in the row, many overlook it and the piece either loses (or gains) a stitch for each row.

Different stitches have different turning chains (turning chains bring the hook and yarn up to the level of the stitches in the next row) and the turning chain is treated differently.

Using UK crochet terms:

DC - turning chain is 1, and not treated as a stitch

TR - turning chain is 3, and IS treated as the first stitch in the row.  Because it's acting like the first stitch, you don't actually make a stitch into the first TR in the row below, you need to skip it.  If you TR into the first stitch, you will add an extra stitch.  When you reach the end of the row, the last stitch is made into the top of the chain 3 from the row below.