blanket circling...help

Addicted2patterns

Question

I have been crocheting for several months and done different patterns. I am currently working on an afghan that uses fpdc and dc in the same row. when I work the next I use a sc and after doing so my work starts to circle. I have asked several different people. Some said the hook (which isn't the problem) others said too tight...not that either. One suggested I either did too many stitches or not enough. Don't know what to do, it's a big project and a xmas gift for relatives and I don't want to have to foreit it. I would like to figure this out before I go on any further.

Thanks.

8 answers to this question

This is the pattern I am doing. http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/textured-stripes-throw

I am retrying it by skipping..I think I had done the fpdc and dc stitches incorrectly. By the way it was arching downwards. The first 2 rows were the correct number but was having difficulty on where to put the fpdc.

I really like this pattern and I am stubborn to not give up :D

if it's arching downward, towards the beginning chain, I would suspect the foundation chain may be too small for the stitch pattern. Maybe even the foundation row...It's a common problem. The easiest solution is to make the foundation chain with a larger hook, one or two sizes up, generally.

HTH

if it's arching downward, towards the beginning chain, I would suspect the foundation chain may be too small for the stitch pattern. Maybe even the foundation row...It's a common problem. The easiest solution is to make the foundation chain with a larger hook, one or two sizes up, generally.

HTH

Thank you :0)

The rows alternate sc, dc & fpdc, sc, dc & fpdc.  The fpdcs are made from a dc row into the dc row 2 rows below.

I'm not sure if it will help, but that seems sort of a big stretch; I'd be tempted to see if fptr looked better.