Newbie yarn questions!!

luv2learn

I am a newbie here, and to crocheting. I love both!! :) With that said, I have made several items already and am having a blast with it. I have only used worsted weight acrylic though, and am ready to try something else. My question is simply what all comes in "worsted" weight? I see most of the patterns I am wanting to try calls for it, but I've also seen wool in worsted weight, and I believe cotton? What all different types could I play with for a worsted weight pattern??? Is there anywhere that explains the differences too.

Thank you in advance!

most, if not all, yarn will have the weight on the label. Worsted weight is considered a size 3 yarn, but not all worsted weight yarns are still exactly the same size. Caron Simply Soft is a size 3 worsted weight, but it considerably thinner than say a Caron One Pound skein.

If you haven't yet, join Ravelry. Here is a link to yarn sizing they have that I use often. http://www.ravelry.com/help/yarn/weights?highlight=12 But I think you have to join to view it.

One thing you can't do is mix wool with acrylic as when washed the wool will shrink and the acrylic doesn't. Can make a mess or ..a work of art?! :D

Like Mary said, the yarn weights are ranges, so there is quite a bit of variation within a range. Also, the fiber type affects the drape of the crocheted fabric. You can find pretty much any fiber in worsted weight.

Here is another weight chart w/ crochet gauge and hook size as a starting point http://www.craftyarncouncil.com/weight.html

It's fun to window shop online for yarn, and some sites are searchable by yarn weight and other criteria. For example on Yarnmarket here is the search for worsted http://www.yarnmarket.com/generate/search_new.cfm?action=search_adv&ss=Worsted&wt_1=&wt_2=&wt_3=on&wt_4=&wt_5=&wt_6=&yarn_weight_id=48&CFID=1787698&CFTOKEN=89607743