Yarn, sweaters.........

I just got to thinking about yarn and how people can take apart sweaters, and use the yarn! :faint Do you have any idea of how many sweaters I've gotten rid of! :eekMakes me want to cry.:cry........I just gave them away, so they did go to a good cause. But now, I'm just thinking that there was a beautiful burgundy chenille sweater I got rid of because it was too bulky! That would have been great to take apart, and use again........

Anyways, I just had to get this off my chest.......:(

I feel the same way...got rid of a cashmere sweater not too long ago to goodwill.

That would have been WONDERFUL to crochet with...

And I have been crocheting for like 10 years now and havent thought about doing that until recently...duh chicki!! :blush

~Chicki

Okay -- I gotta ask this. I have been crocheting for years and never knew one could recycle yarn from a sweater. How do you unravel it? All the old sweaters I have that I guess would be good yarn to crochet with are currently in some form of knitted stitch. Some guidance on this please? :-)

Make sure that the sweater is knitted to shape, not cut and sew. Cut and sew is easy to recognise as it is cut out as in sewing fabric and overlocked together. If you try to unravel that, you end up with lots of short bits.

If it has neat seams inside and you can see the edge of the knitting, you can unravel.

To un-pick the garment, imagine where they might have finished it off and this is where you start. Probably the neck band. You may have to snip a few places to get going but it is worth wasting a small amount to get started. Some are put together with a linker which is easy to undo.

When you have all the bits separated, you can find the ends and start unravelling. Wind the yarn quite firmly to start taking the wrinkles out. (Wish it worked with faces)